ICE Lise Meitner

Maren Strack

Performances and Installations

Forgotten Instruments

28 + 29.12.2022, 19.00 Uhr, Kunsthaus Potsdam

conducted by Maren Strack

(world premiere)

The new performance entitled Forgotten Instruments is a sequence of three formally different pieces that explore the interplay of sound and dance. They are connected by finely spun threads, with the performer occasionally becoming a victim of her own staging in the web of sound and action.

In collaboration with Johan Lorbeer, sound direction: Kerstin Lücker

Fabrik Potsdam

KVK Podsdam

Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
Neu Start Kultur
Dachverband Tanz Deutschland
Nationales Performance Netz
Land Brandenburg

Supported by the Ministry of Science, Research and Culture of the State of Brandenburg, as well as the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Support Program Dance.

90% Polypropylen 10% Elasthan

The artist Maren Strack lives in an in-between world. Her artistic interest oscillates between dance and sculpture. For sculptors, hands are the most important part of the body. For Maren Strack it is the feet. Without this part of her body, her artistic concepts are inconceivable. Prepared footwear draws attention to her legs, installative wardrobe deforms her body. The artist often prefers everyday materials, such as rubber, car parts, camping items and women’s hair. These materials are subjected to a stress test that reveals their potential choreographic and sonic usability. From this, Maren Strack develops the choreography of her surreal daydream scenes, which lie in the border area between image and performance. In the best case, a field of creative tension arises, carried by the dynamic presence of the dancer’s body, the staccato of her knee joints as well as the cold material presence of chinking everyday objects.

Performances

Installations

In the press

Follow me:
Instagram
Vimeo

ICE Lise Meitner

Maren Strack

Performances und Installationen

Forgotten Instruments

28 + 29.12.2022, 19.00 Uhr, Kunsthaus Potsdam

conducted by Maren Strack

(Uraufführung)

Die neue Performance mit dem Titel Forgotten Instruments ist eine Folge von drei formal unterschiedlichen Stücken, die das Wechselspiel aus Klang und Tanz ausloten. Sie sind durch feingesponnene Fäden verbunden, wobei die Performerin im Netz aus Sound und Aktion gelegentlich zum Opfer ihrer eigenen Inszenierung wird.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Johan Lorbeer, Tonregie: Kerstin Lücker

Fabrik Potsdam

KVK Podsdam

Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
Neu Start Kultur
Dachverband Tanz Deutschland
Nationales Performance Netz
Land Brandenburg

Unterstützt durch das Ministerium für Wissenschaft Forschung und Kultur des Landes Brandenburg, sowie das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

90% Polypropylen 10% Elasthan

Die Künstlerin Maren Strack lebt in einer Zwischenwelt. Ihr künstlerisches Interesse pendelt zwischen Tanz und Bildhauerei. Für Bildhauer* sind Hände der wichtigste Teil des Körpers. Bei Maren Strack sind es die Füße. Ohne diesen Teil ihres Körpers sind ihre künstlerischen Konzepte nicht denkbar. Präpariertes Schuhwerk lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf ihre Beine, installative Garderobe verformt ihren Körper. Die Künstlerin bevorzugt häufig Alltagsmaterialien, wie Gummi, KFZ – Teile, Campingartikel und Frauenhaar. Diese Materialien werden einem Belastungstest unterzogen, bei dem sich ihre mögliche choreographische und ihre klangliche Verwendbarkeit zeigt. Daraus entwickelt Maren Strack die Choreographie ihrer surrealen Tagtraumszenen, die im Grenzbereich zwischen Bild und Aufführung liegen. Im besten Fall entsteht ein Spannungsfeld getragen von der dynamischen Präsenz des Tänzerinnen Körpers, dem Staccato ihrer Kniegelenke sowie der kalten Material-Präsenz klingender Alltagsobjekte.

Performances

Installationen

In der Presse

Folge mir:
Instagram
Vimeo